Journal Finder
The Economist
- The Economist
Complementary access to The Economist is now available! This program is available for all students, faculty, and staff. Sign up with your CSB and SJU email to get full access.
Recommended Databases
These article databases have a strong focus in Economics. Check the Libraries' Research Guides for other suggestions based on your research topic.
- EconLit This link opens in a new window Contains summaries and articles from journals and books, and the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Archive of core journals and books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Log in via Microsoft or use Find My Institution (type Benedict to see our school).
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Index to scholarly articles in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Also search for articles that cite specific articles and books.
- NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window Papers published by the National Bureau of Economic Research, a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works.
- CEPR Discussion Papers This link opens in a new window Economic research papers covering seven major areas of economics. They have not yet been published in journals, but may have been presented at conferences or workshops.
Citation Searching
- Web of Science Core CollectionClick on the "Cited Reference Search" tab to find articles that cite a previously published work.
- Google ScholarSearch results often include "Cited by" links below the citation.
You can use a good article as a starting point for finding additional relevant articles that have cited them. This method of research is called "cited reference searching." To start, you will need some key information about your starting article: article title, journal title, author, and publication year.
What Is a Literature Review?
Guide to Writing a Literature Review // Perdue OWL
"When we say 'literature review' or refer to 'the literature,' we are talking about the research (scholarship) in a given field. You will often see the terms 'the research,' 'the scholarship,' and 'the literature' used mostly interchangeably."
"A literature review is part of a research paper, usually falling after the introduction and before the research methods sections. The lit review covers the scholarship that is important to the issue you are writing about; sometimes it will also cover key sources that informed your research methodology."
Librarian
Other Social Sciences Databases
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window Legal research and news sources, both state and federal.
- SAGE Full-Text Journals This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Scholarly journal articles in biology, chemistry, language and linguistics, economics, computer science, education, and other subjects.
- Applied Social Science Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations, and education. Provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.