Research Guides: GBUS 330: X-Culture project: Industry & Market Info

Library Databases

Business Source Premier
Full text articles and reports from top business publications, including newspapers, trade magazines, company profiles, industry reports, and scholarly journals.

First Research This link opens in a new window
Industry reports from Dun & Bradstreet.

Euromonitor Passport
Exclusive financial data, demographic information major countries and regions, industry trends and forecasting, and company profiles for major international corporations and industries.

Hoover's Online This link opens in a new window
Information on more than 150 million businesses, both public and private, around the world; including the UK, Europe, Asia Pacific, and emerging markets. Search by Company Name, Executives, Industry, or by using Conceptual Search and Business Signals.
Morningstar Investing Center This link opens in a new window
Important financial data and analysis of industries and public companies. Information on international and domestic stocks and funds.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry data.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Data sources for industries in countries around the world. Visit the Getting Started Guide for more information.

GlobalEDGE
Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.
Database of International Business Statistics
•Access is available for academic, non-commercial use
•Frequent updates using robust data
•Over 5000 variables
•Over 200 countries
•Data available from mid-1990s to present
Market Research by Country
Detailed market research for a range of industries, tailored for New Zealand companies interested in doing business in key markets around the world.
International Statistical Agencies
International statistical agencies, listed by country. Via the U.S. Census.
World Trade Organization - Research
Two broad categories of research and analysis material are produced by the WTO: regular assessments of the global trade picture in the WTO annual publications and research reports on specific topics. The WTO also organizes regular economic seminars.
United Nations Trade Statistics
Free access to detailed global trade data. UN Comtrade is a repository of official trade statistics and relevant analytical tables. It contains annual trade statistics starting from 1962 and monthly trade statistics since 2010

World Bank Data This link opens in a new window
At the World Bank, the Development Data Group coordinates statistical and data work and maintains a number of macro, financial and sector databases. These databases are used by teams to prepare Country Assistance Strategies, poverty assessments, research studies and other forms of economic and sector work.

Market Research - Export.gov
Access the U.S. Commercial Service Market Research Library containing more than 100,000 industry and country-specific market reports, authored by our specialists working in overseas posts.

The Library Includes:
• Country Commercial Guides (read latest “Doing Business In” guides)
• Industry Overviews*
• Market Updates*
• Multilateral Development Bank Reports*
• Best Markets*
• Industry/Regional Reports*

* These market research reports are available only to U.S. companies and students/researchers that are registered with Export.gov. Register above to get access.
Market Research Portal
Includes free industry information such as research findings, articles written by industry professionals on market research in general, quantitative and qualitative research, survey methods and statistics. In addition there is career and job related information, book lists and news.

McKinsey Quarterly
McKinsey & Company is a global Management consulting firm that publishes global topical reports.
Strategy+Business
This magazine focuses on exploring the complicated choices that business leaders face in marketing operations governance, strategy, and human capital.
Plunkett Research
Industry reports. Some information is behind a paywall, but the free information is substantive.
UNCTADstat
Comprehensive statistics from the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development.
Eurostat
Detailed statistics on the European Union and candidate countries. Some statistical publications here are behind paywalls.
TradeStats Express
Annual and quarterly trade data from the U.S. Office of Trade and Industry Information (OTII). Via Export.gov.