- Artstor This link opens in a new windowRepository of digital images and related data as well as tools to actively use those images. Note: In order to download or save images, register for a login with your campus email address. You can also share with other users.
- Mimbres Ceramic DatabaseThe Mimbres Pottery Images Digital Database (MimPIDD) is a collection of over 9,000 images of Mimbres ceramic vessels, among the most spectacular and renowned prehistoric pottery in North America. Although some images are not available, the majority of the collection is viewable.
- Minnesota ReflectionsImages and documents from cultural heritage institutions across Minnesota.
- Vivarium This link opens in a new windowDigitized manuscripts, art, rare books, photographs, audio, video, and other resources from Saint Ben's and Saint John's.
- Hennepin County Library's World War II Propaganda Poster CollectionVarious U.S. departments created graphically interesting and appealing posters to inform, persuade, and unite the American people at a time of adversity for the country. Posters issued by U.S. Federal agencies during WWII are in the public domain, which means they are not subject to copyright and you may use them freely.
- Europeana CollectionsOver 57,603,456 artworks, artefacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives
- The Met CollectionDigital access to Collection Highlights, Open Access Artwork, art objects, and other online features at The Met in NY City.
- MoMA (The Museum of Modern Art)Search over 81,000 works available online from MoMA in Manhattan.
- Smithsonian Digital Library: Art & DesignIncludes: Art & Artist Files, Artists' Books, Hirshhorn Museum Library Audio Archive of interviews with artists, Seed and Nursery Catalogs, Shedding Light on New York archive.
- The Art Institute of Chicago: Ryerson & Burnham ArchivesFeatures late 19th/20th-century American architecture from the Midwest including Chicago School, Prairie School and organic architecture. Architects such as Edward Bennett, Daniel Burnham, Bruce Goff, Bertrand Goldberg, Ludwig Hilberseimer, Mies van der Rohe, Louis Sullivan, and Frank Lloyd Wright and events such as the World's Columbian Exposition of 1893 and the 1933 Century of Progress International Exposition are represented in a broad range of graphic and textual records.
- The Art Institute of Chicago: Architects Oral History ProjectInterviews of 20th century Chicago architects include Skidmore, Owings & Merrill partners and associates, students and colleagues of Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, members of the Chicago Seven, principals of second- and third-generation architectural and engineering firms.
- Heard Museum: Advancing American Indian ArtThe Billie Jane Baguley Library and Archives has an extensive collection of documentary and photographic works on American Indians with an emphasis on indigenous people in the Greater Southwest.
- The Frick Digital CollectionsThe Photoarchive is a study collection of photographic reproductions of works of art by fourth to mid-twentieth century artists trained in the Western tradition. The digital collection currently contains almost 200,000 items.
Additionally, The Frick has Virtual Exhibitions available, with 360 virtual tours.
- American Folk Art MuseumThe digital collection contains bout 8,000 works of art from the United Stated and abroad, spanning traditional American folk art made at the turn of the 18th century to 20th/21st century works by self-taught artists and art brut creators.
- Asian Art MuseumLocated in San Francisco, the digital collection features more than 18,000 objects.
- LACMA (Los Angeles County Museum of Art)Digital collection includes highlights and is searchable by curatorial area, chronology, object type.
- Memorial Hall Museum Online: American CenturiesOnline collection containing more than 2300 artifacts comprised of documents, artifacts, maps, photos, and newspapers, from the Connecticut River Valley region of Massachusetts.
- National Gallery of Art Open Access imagesOver 50,000 images and open data
Digitial Collections in Libraries
- Library of Congress Free to Use and reuse setsThemed sets of images from the Library of Congress, such as natural disasters, skyscrapers, farms, shoes, hats.
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsThe Library of Congress is the largest library in the world. Digitized content ranges from photos, print, and film to audio recordings and other mixed material.
- Digital Public Library of America37,080,103 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States
- New York Public Library Digital CollectionsOver 922,000 digitized items
- Asian Art Collection @ Gettysburg CollegeA digital archive showcasing approximately half of the College's 2,000-item collection of Asian art, which includes ceramics, ivory, jade, and other artifacts.
- Gallery: The UNESCO Works of Art CollectionUnited Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
- American Craft Council Libraries & Archives Digital CollectionsContains over 23,000 images, documents, and media detailing the history of contemporary craft in America.
- University of Iowa Libraries: Iowa Digital LibraryContains over a million digital objects created from the holdings of the University of Iowa Libraries and its campus partners. Included are illuminated manuscripts, historic maps, fine art, historic newspapers, scholarly works, and more.
Saint John's University
Saint John's University
Subjects: Classics, English, Film Studies, French Studies, German Studies, Greek, Hispanic Studies, History, Latin, Philosophy, Spanish