Manuscripts & Other Collections
- Early American Imprints (books, pamphlets and other printed material) Series I & II, 1639-1819 This link opens in a new windowBooks, pamphlets and broadsides, from 17th-18th-century America, digitized from the bibliography created by Charles Evans. Also included is the Shaw-Shoemaker Collection covering the first 19 years of the 19th century.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new windowBooks, pamphlets, essays, and broadsides published during the 18th century (1701-1800).
- British Literary Manuscripts Online This link opens in a new windowFacsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. Two collections: Medieval & Renaissance, and 1660-1900.
- Empire Online This link opens in a new windowBrings together manuscript, printed, and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices, and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps, and an interactive chronology.
- Women Writers Online/Women Writers Project This link opens in a new windowTexts by pre-Victorian women writing in English.
- Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new windowContains the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries.
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories This link opens in a new windowLetters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives from North American immigrants from 1800 to 1950.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new windowWritings of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters, from Colonial times to 1950.
- Tribal Treaties DatabaseAgreements between tribal nations and the United States (1778-1886) published in the 1904 work “Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties” (Volume II), compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler. A project from the Oklahoma State University Library.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1974-1996 This link opens in a new windowA collection of English-language transcriptions of media content from around the world collected by the United States' intelligence community. This collection provides an international perspective on world events.
Historical Newspapers and Periodicals
- 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window17th and 18th century collection of English news media including newspapers, newsbooks, proclamations, and pamphlets.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections This link opens in a new windowA collection of periodicals published in American magazines and journals from 1691 to 1877.
- Early American Newspapers, Series I (1690-1876) This link opens in a new windowHistorical newspapers from early America.
- Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500–1926 This link opens in a new windowA collection of pamphlets, memoirs, legislation, correspondence, biographies, fiction, and other genres based upon a bibliographic work organized by Joseph Sabin with the collaboration of numerous colleges, universities, and historical societies covering all aspects of American life and culture (1500-1926).
- American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900 This link opens in a new windowAmerican magazines and journals prior to 1900.
- Washington Post - Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowArchival access to the Washington Post, 1877 - current (minus the last 17 years). One more year of content is added annually.
- New York Times - Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowArchival access to the New York Times from 1851 - current (minus the last 4 years). One more year of content is added annually.
- The Times Digital Archive, 1785-current (5-year embargo) This link opens in a new windowPublished in London, The Times is one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage.
- British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new windowComprehensive range of national, regional, and local newspapers in Victorian Britain, in partnership with the British Library.
Saint John's University
Saint John's University
Subjects: Classics, English, Film Studies, French Studies, German Studies, Greek, Hispanic Studies, History, Latin, Philosophy, Spanish