Research Guides: Music: General: BAC Music Library @ St. Ben's

BAC Music Library

The BAC Music Library is located in Benedicta Arts Center A147. Its collections include scores, books, sound recordings, course reserves, and music educator’s resources.

The Music Library also houses an Audio Recording Studio, listening stations with CD players and turntables, recording devices for USB to CD, LP to CD, or cassette to CD, a CD to CD duplicator, and a DAT (digital audio tape) copier. Equipment for checkout from the Music Library includes tuners, metronomes, and flash drives.

More information about hours, circulation, and more can be found here.

BAC Audio Recording Studio

Booking information and tips for using the Audio Recording Studio in the BAC Music Library.

Music Catalogs

BAC Music Library
Directly search the BAC (Benedicta Arts Center) Music Library to find scores, books, sound recordings, and music educator's resources.
Sacred Music Collection
The Sacred Music Collection includes scores from the Richard Proulx collection, the Bruce Larsen collection, the Disynski collection, and other gift collections.
Proulx Finding Aids
Links to PDF Finding Aids of Richard Proulx's manuscripts, published scores, and sound recordings held by CSB/SJU Libraries.
Richard Proulx Biography
The Bruce Larsen Collection
Bruce Larsen's biographical information and background on the collection

BAC Music Library REFERENCE SHELF

Useful resources for music research and searching for scores

The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music by Don Michael Randel (Editor)
Call Number: Reference ML105 .H38 1996 (BAC Music Library)
Publication Date: 2004-03-28
eBook available through link. Emphasizes classical and art music composers, but includes composers of jazz, blues, rock, pop, hymns, and showtunes.
Music Titles in Translation by Julian Hodgson
Call Number: Reference ML111 .H7 (BAC Music Library)
Publication Date: 1976-04-01
Score titles are often found in several languages. Not sure what the translation might be? For scores written before 1976, this guide cross-references titles In English and other languages.
Music Research : A Handbook by Laurie J. Sampsel
Call Number: Reference ML113 .S28 2020 (BAC Music Library)
Publication Date: 2019-01-30
Guide for the music research process and research tools. Bibliographies of reference materials. Digital media writing style.
The Jazz Standards : A Guide to the Repertoire by Ted Gioia
Call Number: Reference Ml128 .J3 G56 2012 (BAC Music Library)
Publication Date: 2012-07-06
Discusses more than 250 key jazz songs and includes a listening guide to different versions. Click the link and view the TOC to see which songs are included.
Music Analyses : An Annotated Guide to the Literature by Harold J. Diamond
Call Number: Reference ML128.A7 D5 1991 (BAC Music Library)
Publication Date: 1991-05-01
A bibliography of selected analytic literature on Western art music. The Diamond Guide lists where the analyzed pieces are located, including titles of articles and books that discuss and analyze composer's works.
Subject Guide to Classical Instrumental Music by Jennifer Goodenberger
Call Number: Reference ML128.I65 G59 1989 (BAC Music Library)
Publication Date: 1989-01-01
Looking for a score that relates to a particular subject, like "Snow" or "Trees" (or more)? Use this guide to find the right piece.
Writing about Music by D. Kern Holoman
Call Number: Reference ML3797 .W75 2014 (BAC Music Library)
Publication Date: 2014-09-05
eBook available through link. Writing style for music papers, such as how to write titles of works, use of major and minor, dynamic markings, pitch names, and much more.

Faculty: Ordering Scores

Music score order requests
Fill out the form to request a score for either CSB or SJU