Music: Popular / Folk

The PAE provides information about the Library's unsurpassed collections of scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, and other materials. Users can find digitized items from the collections; special Web presentations on topics and collections; articles and biographical essays; finding aids to collections; databases for performing arts resources; information on concerts at the Library; and a special Performing Arts Resource Guide which contains entries for hundreds of Library collections, Web sites, databases and exhibits.

Over 30,000 A-Z entries covering all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 - present. Includes jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music.

Over 10,000 A-Z entries. Includes 2 appendices - one listing French, German, and Italian musical terms with English translations, and an abbreviations list for letters commonly used in musical scores and musical writing.

A-Z entries on people and organizations related to music.

Over 8,000 A-Z entries on musical instruments. Includes instruments from around the world, their builders, history and techniques of instrument design/manufacture, performance practice. Also gives special attention to electronic and experimental instruments and the human body as an instrument.

A-Z entries focus on loving composers and their music. Includes articles that range from definitions of musical ideas/terms to surveys of musical forms and styles. Places music in its social and cultural context. Covers current research including areas such as analysis, theory, ethnomusicology,and performance in all varieties of musical forms including jazz, popular music, dance.

Over 9,000 A-Z entries, which includes areas such as popular music, cities/regions, musical theater, music technology, and musical traditions of numerous ethnic/cultural groups. Articles range from definitions to mid-length biographies, & larger subjects such as the history of jazz, musical instruments, and the American history of the orchestra. Also includes over 400 images and 140 musical examples.

Over 2,000 A-Z entries on musicals, performers, composers, lyricists, producers, choreographers, etc. Includes cross-references, a list of recordings, and a chronology of all the musicals listed. Also, contains a complete index of Tony Award and Academy Award winners.

A-Z entries feature 815 articles by distinguished scholars about major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts—from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture.