Secondary Sources - Literary & Historical - ENGL 383 - Postcolonial Lit - Research Guides at College of St. Benedict/St. John’s University

Find Literary Articles & Criticisms in Literature Databases

Use the library catalog to find critical essays in scholarly books. Examples to the left.

JSTOR
more... less...

Find full-text articles in humanities and literary-oriented journals.

Looking for critical commentary on your author's work? Try using the sources below.

MLA International Bibliography
more... less...

Find citations (and some full-text) to articles on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and much more.
Project Muse
more... less...

Find full-text articles in many key humanities journals.

Literature Resource Center
Up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.

Gale Literary Sources

Primary Historical Sources

HathiTrust

Empire Online
Brings together printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices, and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by scholarly essays, maps, and an interactive chronology.
British Library Newspapers
Comprehensive range of national, regional, and local newspapers in Victorian Britain, in partnership with the British Library.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500–1926
This collection covers 65,000+ volumes in North, Central, and South America and the West Indies. Highlights the society, politics, beliefs, culture, and events of the time through political tracts, newspapers, books, pamphlets, maps, legislation, and literature.
American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900
American magazines and journals published prior to 1900.

New York Times - Historical Newspapers
Archival access to The New York Times from 1851 - present (minus the last 4 years). One more year of content is added annually.

Find Articles in History Databases

Looking for articles and commentary with more of a historical perspective? Try searching in these History sources. For additional suggestions, see the History subject guide.

America: History & Life
more... less...

Find citations and abstracts to articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.
History Cooperative Journals
more... less...

Created by a consortium of academic publishers and professional history associations, History Cooperative Journals offers full-text access to the Journal of American History and 17 other peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR
more... less...

Contains humanities and social science journal articles, including more than 60 core history journals dating back to the early twentieth century.