Research Guides: Hispanic Studies: Articles

Recommended Databases for Journal Articles

Primarily Spanish-language sources.

HAPI This link opens in a new window
Indexes periodicals covering Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

LatAm Estudios Full Text+
Peer-reviewed resources on all areas of Latin American and Caribbean Studies. Choose to search for freely-available articles (“Solo contenido externo”) or search all (“Buscar todo”) to get results from both Latam-Studies Full Text (a subscription collection we don’t subscribe to) and Latam-Studies Full Text+ (the freely available stuff). Any subscription content (contenido por suscripción), will need to be copy-and-pasted into our library catalog search box to see if we have full-text access or if you would need to request it through interlibrary loan.
Dialnet
Collection of scholarly articles, conference papers, book chapters, and dissertations published mostly in Spain and to a lesser extent in Latin America (1980-present). Some resources are only indexed and you may need to use interlibrary loan to get full-text access. English language search is available.

Clase/Periodica This link opens in a new window
Index of 2700+ Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities. CLASE (1975-present) indexes documents in the social sciences and humanities. PERIÓDICA (1978-present) covers journals specializing in science and technology.

Primarily English-language sources.
Most of the content in these collections is in English, but they also have Advanced Search or Limiter options to limit your results to only Spanish-language sources.

EBSCO Cross-Search This link opens in a new window
Search across multiple EBSCO collections at once! This search includes results from MLA Bibliography, Political Science Complete, Historical Abstracts, Gender Studies Database, and other databases that could be relevant to Hispanic Studies research topics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of core journals and books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Log in via Microsoft or use Find My Institution (type Benedict to see our school).

News and Journalism

Acceda Noticias
From NewsBank. Complete electronic editions of more than 100 Spanish-language newspapers published in major U.S. cities, and articles from other news sources from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, China, Columbia, Ecuador, Mexico, Peru and Spain.

ProQuest International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides news content from outside of the U.S. and Canada, with archives that stretch back decades. Provides information from some of the world's top newspapers including The Times (London), El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, The Daily Telegraph, and more.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window

Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If the CSB and SJU Libraries don't have an article or book you need, use our Interlibrary Loan service to borrow a copy from another library.

Hispanic Studies

Journal Browser

Journal Finder

Do We Have Full-Text Access?

Recommended Databases for Journal Articles

News and Journalism

Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL)