Digital Collections in Libraries
- Library of Congress Free to Use and reuse setsThemed sets of images from the Library of Congress, such as natural disasters, skyscrapers, farms, shoes, hats.
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsThe Library of Congress is the largest library in the world. Digitized content ranges from photos, print, and film to audio recordings and other mixed material.
- Digital Public Library of America37,080,103 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States
- New York Public Library Digital CollectionsOver 922,000 digitized items
- University of Iowa Libraries: Iowa Digital LibraryContains over a million digital objects created from the holdings of the University of Iowa Libraries and its campus partners. Included are illuminated manuscripts, historic maps, fine art, historic newspapers, scholarly works, and more.
Museums & Archives
- Vogue: The Complete ArchiveArchived issues of Vogue Magazine
- Europeana CollectionsOver 57,603,456 artworks, artefacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives
- The Met CollectionDigital access to Collection Highlights, Open Access Artwork, art objects, and other online features at The Met in NY City.
- MoMA (The Museum of Modern Art)Search over 81,000 works available online from MoMA in Manhattan.
- Smithsonian Digital Library: Art & DesignIncludes: Art & Artist Files, Artists' Books, Hirshhorn Museum Library Audio Archive of interviews with artists, Seed and Nursery Catalogs, Shedding Light on New York archive.
- The Art Institute of Chicago: Ryerson & Burnham ArchivesFeatures late 19th/20th-century American architecture from the Midwest including Chicago School, Prairie School and organic architecture. Architects such as Edward Bennett, Daniel Burnham, Bruce Goff, Bertrand Goldberg, Ludwig Hilberseimer, Mies van der Rohe, Louis Sullivan, and Frank Lloyd Wright and events such as the World's Columbian Exposition of 1893 and the 1933 Century of Progress International Exposition are represented in a broad range of graphic and textual records.
- LACMA (Los Angeles County Museum of Art)Digital collection includes highlights and is searchable by curatorial area, chronology, object type.
Costume history and patterns
- Elizabethan Costume PageHistorical information on Elizabethan costumes (PDFs) and an assortment of free patterns.
- Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) Pattern ProjectThe Pattern Project is an online resource produced by the Costume and Textiles department at LACMA which publishes free downloadable garment patterns of historic dress in the permanent collection. Each printable PDF includes a scaled pattern of an extant fashion object from the collection, a description with historic context and object-based observations, overall and detail images, and instructions for construction of the garment.
- Free Period PatternsVictorian, Edwardian
