Recommended Databases
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexing for art periodicals. Full text of selected titles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of core journals and books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Log in via Microsoft or use Find My Institution (type Benedict to see our school).
- Bibliography of the History of Art / International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window1975-2007. One of the primary indexes of art history scholarship.
- OpenBibArt: History of Art BibliographyOpenBibArt is a bibliographic database that reviews literature on art from Late Antiquity to the present. It contains almost 1.2 million bibliographic records of periodicals, books, exhibition and auction catalogues, published between 1910 and 2007.
Collaborative project from the Institut National d’Histoire de l’Art (INHA), the Getty Research Institute (GRI) and the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the CNRS (Inist-CNRS).
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowNorth American history and popular culture from pre-colonial times to the present including journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations. Use Historical Abstracts for world history.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and summaries of articles from journals published in over 90 countries. It covers all branches of world history from 1450 to the present except American and Canadian history.
- MLA Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, essays, books, and dissertations for: language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Large interdisciplinary collection of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
- Art Vérité This link opens in a new windowEducational documentary films about the art world, focusing on art law and art business, and protecting the integrity of art history. The one-year subscription beginning Jan 1st is provided through a generous gift from Gene and Sheelah Windfeldt.
- Art VeritéPDF description of videos
Art News
- The Art NewspaperThe Art Newspaper, an online and print publication that covers the international art world, was founded in 1990 by Umberto Allemandi and Anna Somers Cocks on the original concept of Il Giornale dell'Arte, founded 1983. (from the site)
- ARTnewsFounded in 1902, ARTnews is the oldest and most widely circulated art magazine in the world. Its readership of 180,000 in 124 countries includes collectors, dealers, historians, artists, museum directors, curators, connoisseurs, and enthusiasts. Published in print six times a year, it reports on the art, people, issues, trends, and events shaping the international art world. (from the site)
