American Primary Source Databases
- Early American Newspapers, Series I (1690-1876) This link opens in a new windowHistorical newspapers from early America.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections This link opens in a new windowA collection of periodicals published in American magazines and journals from 1691 to 1877.
- American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900 This link opens in a new windowAmerican magazines and journals prior to 1900.
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories This link opens in a new windowLetters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives from North American immigrants from 1800 to 1950.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new windowWritings of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters, from Colonial times to 1950.
- Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500–1926 This link opens in a new windowA collection of pamphlets, memoirs, legislation, correspondence, biographies, fiction, and other genres based upon a bibliographic work organized by Joseph Sabin with the collaboration of numerous colleges, universities, and historical societies covering all aspects of American life and culture (1500-1926).
Gale Primary Sources
British Primary Source Databases
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new windowBooks printed in English from 1473-1700.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new windowBooks, pamphlets, essays, and broadsides published during the 18th century (1701-1800).
- Empire Online This link opens in a new windowBrings together manuscript, printed, and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices, and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps, and an interactive chronology.
- Women Writers Online/Women Writers Project This link opens in a new windowTexts by pre-Victorian women writing in English.
- The Times Digital Archive, 1785-current (5-year embargo) This link opens in a new windowPublished in London, The Times is one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage.
- 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window17th and 18th century collection of English news media including newspapers, newsbooks, proclamations, and pamphlets.
- British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new windowComprehensive range of national, regional, and local newspapers in Victorian Britain, in partnership with the British Library.
- British Literary Manuscripts Online This link opens in a new windowFacsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. Two collections: Medieval & Renaissance, and 1660-1900.
- Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500–1926 This link opens in a new windowA collection of pamphlets, memoirs, legislation, correspondence, biographies, fiction, and other genres based upon a bibliographic work organized by Joseph Sabin with the collaboration of numerous colleges, universities, and historical societies covering all aspects of American life and culture (1500-1926).
- Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new windowContains the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries.
- In Principio This link opens in a new windowIndex to 1 million incipits covering Latin literature from its origins to the Renaissance. Click "Enter databases" and then select "In Principio" to use this resource.
Images
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowRepository of digital images and related data as well as tools to actively use those images. Note: In order to download or save images, register for a login with your campus email address. You can also share with other users.
eBook Collections
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new windoweBooks from a variety of publishers, including both a large interdisciplinary subscription and selected titles our institution has purchased individually.
- ACLS Humanities Ebook This link opens in a new windowEbooks from a variety of fields in the humanities, developed by scholars.
- CREDO Reference This link opens in a new windowDictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. from a variety of sources.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowReference books by Oxford University Press, including the Oxford Digital Reference Shelf.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowOnline reference works from a variety of publishers.
- Google BooksSearch within and preview millions of books from libraries and publishers worldwide. Note: Google Books' previews shows you varying amounts of a book depending on publishers' preferences; pages might be missing.
- Hathi Trust This link opens in a new windowRepository of e-texts from 50+ research libraries. Many (public domain) texts freely available, some only available to members of the owning institution.
Search with WorldCat - Audiobooks at EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAudiobooks from EBSCOhost, replaces NetLibrary eAudiobooks.
Your Librarian
Annie Larson
Contact:
Room 307
Alcuin Library
Saint John's University
Alcuin Library
Saint John's University
320-363-2127
Subjects: Classics, English, Film Studies, French Studies, German Studies, Greek, Hispanic Studies, History, Latin, Philosophy, Spanish