Research Guides: Music Faculty Guide: OER and DEI: Diversifying Score Collections

Faculty: Ordering Scores

Music score order requests
Fill out the form to request a score for either CSB or SJU or email Bonnie Finn

Score Publishers

Please use the form in the "Faculty: Ordering Scores" box or email Bonnie Finn to request scores for the library.

Online Collection Resources

Online collections/lists

New Muses Project
From the site: New Muses Project is a DEI-centered classical music organization, promoting justice and curiosity through performance, education, and scholarship.
Institute for Composer Diversity databases
Databases include: Composer Diversity, Works Diversity, Choral Diversity
Wind Repertory Project
From the site: "The Wind Repertory Project™ is a comprehensive database of wind literature, expanded by contributions of band directors/conductors, students, and wind band enthusiasts worldwide. Our goal is to help you find detailed information about wind band literature, including program notes, instrumentation, errata, media links, academic resources, and more. Our small but mighty team is constantly adding new information on works and composers, and you can help as well, by contributing any relevant information, from recent performances to program notes you have written to errata you've discovered along the way."

Composer lists

African Diaspora Music Project
A Compilation of original works by composers in the African Diaspora.
All research associated with this project is owned and presented by
Dr. Louise Toppin and Videmus.
AfriClassical: African Heritage in Classical Music
52 composers, conductors and instrumental performers - Africans, African Americans and Afro-Europeans
Music by Black Composers: Living Composers Directory
Music by Black Composers: Historic Composers Directory
The Composers Equity Project A Database of ALAANA,* Women, and Gender Non-Conforming Composers
Chamber Music America links to composer's websites
The Edwin A. Fleisher Collection of Orchestral Music: Latin American Orchestral Works (pdf)
Black Grooves: Reviews of New Black Music Releases
This is a music review site hosted by the Archives of African American Music & Culture (AAAMC) at Indiana University. Although no new blogs are anticipated, it spans from June 2006 to May 2021.

Piano

A Seat at the Piano: Promoting Inclusion in Piano Repertoire
A resource for pianists, pedagogues, and curious music appreciators to explore.

Vocal

Afrocentric Voices in "Classical" Music
Afrocentric Voices focuses on classically trained American singers and composers of African descent and on the vocal music forms they influenced, especially opera and art songs–including Negro spirituals composed for concert performance (from the website)
The African-American Art Song Alliance
Founded in 1997, this is the home of interchange between performers and scholars interested in art song by African-American composers. Here you will find information and links to assist with your discovery of our contribution to song.
Beyond Elijah Rock: The Non-Idiomatic Choral Music of Black Composers
Working list of the non-idiomatic choral music of black composers

Strings

Music by Black Composers: Sheet Music
Cello Works by Black Composers
Underrepresented Composer Database for Viola
This database explores repertoire by underrepresented composers that involves the viola as a significant voice.
The Sphinx Catalog of Latin-American Cello Works
More than 2000 works of Latin American composers centered on the cello.

CSB and SJU Bibliographies

Piano Music by Black Women Composers by Helen Walker-Hill
Call Number: CSB Clemens ML128.P3 W3 1992
ISBN: 0313281416
Publication Date: 1992-02-28
Biographical dictionary and comprehensive bibliography of solo and ensemble piano music composed by African American women to 1992. Introductory overview on the contributions of black women in music and biographical sketches on the fifty-four composers profiled in the catalog. Over 300 piano works are listed, with detailed descriptive information on close to 200 works, including sources and levels of difficulty. Appendixes list available published music, ensemble instrumentation, music for teaching, and music published before 1920. A selected bibliography and a selected discography are also provided.
Blacks in classical music : a bibliographical guide to composers, performers, and ensembles by John Gray (Compiled by); John Gray
Call Number: SJU Alcuin ML128.B45 G7 1988
ISBN: 0313260567
Publication Date: 1988-06-20
Comprehensive index to newspaper and periodical indexes, biographical dictionaries, bibliographies, dissertations and theses, music collections, and published discographies spanning from the mid-eighteenth century to 1988, and ranging geographically from Europe and Africa to the United States, Latin America, and the Caribbean. Contains sections on composers, conductors, individual instrumentalists, symphony orchestras, opera singers and companies.

Pdf scores

Some pdfs are freely available scores and parts. Others may be downloaded for a fee, but we cannot order these for the library due to lack of ability to catalog and share them.

Cuarteto Latino Americano Virtual Library
Latin American works for string quartets

Workshops

University of Michigan: Singing down the barriers
An intensive introduction to the repertoire of African American composers for the college student, apprentice, voice teacher, coach, choral conductor, or professional singer. In tandem with a directed curriculum of readings, resources, recordings, reflective exercises, and performance, the Institute seeks to help participants overcome the barriers that prevent successful engagement with and performance of African American concert repertoire including art song and spirituals (from the website).