Research Guides: Music: Voice / Opera / Musical Theater: Voice Pedagogy

Recommended Resources

Remember to check databases in the sciences using keywords such as these:

Physiology (voice)
Acoustics
Alignment
Breathing
Phonation – onset/offset
Registration
Resonance
Articulation
“Breath management” and support
“Vocal health”

Add "voice" or "singing" using Boolean operators AND, OR, NOT

Subject headings to use in databases or the library catalog include:

su: voice culture
su: Singers – Training of
su: Voice – physiological aspects
su: singing – physiological aspects
su: singing – Instruction and study
su: Singing – methods
su: music – instruction and study
su: voice disorders – treatment
su: voice disorders

Recommended Databases

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly articles in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Also search for articles that cite specific articles and books.
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
More than 30 million citations from biomedical and life science journals and online books; many include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
EBSCO Cross-Search This link opens in a new window
Search multiple EBSCO database collections at once.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of core journals and books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Log in via Microsoft or use Find My Institution (type Benedict to see our school).
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference books by Oxford University Press, including the Oxford Digital Reference Shelf.
BrowZine Web This link opens in a new window
Browse hundreds of the Library's subscribed journals by subject or by title.

Journal of Voice by Elsevier Science