Research Guides: Classics: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Search Reference Collections

Credo, Gale, and Oxford offer reference collections that let you cross-search many dictionaries and encyclopedias at once!

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. from a variety of sources.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Online reference works from a variety of publishers.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference books by Oxford University Press, including the Oxford Digital Reference Shelf.

Brill's New Pauly
Encyclopedia of the ancient world.
Oxford Online Classics
Dictionaries, companions, and encyclopedias from Oxford University Press
Who's who in the Roman world
5th Century BC through AD 364 figures representing from all walks of Roman life
Who's who in Classical mythology
Details about gods, heroes and other characters in Greek and Roman mythology as well as key authors
Meet the philosophers of ancient Greece
Introducing the values, ideas, wisdom and arguments of the most significant thinkers from the world of ancient Greece
The Homer Encyclopedia
Resource for background on themes, places, characters, politics and prosody of Homer
Logeion
Look up a word in Greek or Latin. Learning to use Logeion to look up words should be straightforward. Start typing in (the first few letters of) the headword (or lemma) for the entry (transliteration is an option for Greek words) and the word wheel will spin to what we hope will be the right destination. Enter a minimum of three characters, and the system will attempt to suggest entries in the neighborhood.