Skip to Main Content

ART 379B: Art & Medicine

Carol Brash

Chicago Manual of Style: Image Citation: Notes and Bibliography

Chicago Manual of Style eBook 

Chicago Style for Notes and Bibliography

Painting:

Last name, First name. Title of work. Date. Medium. Dimensions, Location. If found online, add the URL.
Bib example:
van Gogh, Vincent. Wheat Field with Cypresses. 1889. Oil on canvas, 28 7/8 x 36 3/4 in. The Met Museum Collection, New York. https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/436535.

Footnote example:
1. Vincent van Gogh, Wheat Field with Cypresses, 1889, oil on canvas, 28 7/8 x 36 3/4, The Met Museum Collection, New York, https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/436535.

Photo from a website:

Bib example:
Bamin, Pierre. Golden Girls. Unsplash, December 25, 2020. https://unsplash.com/photos/WYoByjRH0qE.

Footnote example:
Pierre Bamin, Golden Girls, Unsplash, December 25, 2020, https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/436535.

Adapted image:

Caption: Source: Adapted from Vincent van Gogh. Title of work. Date. Medium. Dimensions, Location. If found online, add the URL. 

Bib example:
YourLastName, FirstName. Adapted from Vincent van Gogh. Wheat Field with Cypresses. 1889. Oil on canvas, 28 7/8 x 36 3/4 in. The Met Museum Collection, New York. https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/436535.

Footnote example:
1. Adapted from Vincent van Gogh, Wheat Field with Cypresses, 1889, oil on canvas, 28 7/8 x 36 3/4, The Met Museum Collection, New York, https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/436535.

Creative Commons Attributions

Best Practices for Creative Commons Attributions

  • Creators often have a note attached to work that specifies how they should be attributed
  • Follow the format, unless none exists
  • Keep any copyright notices intact
  • You may need to right-click or control-click (Mac) to get image info
  • Check creator’s profile, if no note
  • Hyperlink creator’s name directly to their profile
  • Hyperlink back to original work
  • If license applies to website rather than individual, attribute the website
  • Add appropriate CC abbreviations
  • Link to the CC license
  • Note any alterations you made to original

General rule:  Attribute TASL

  • Title (full) with date - Create a hyperlink to the image
  • Author - if possible, create a hyperlink to the author's page/bio
  • Source - website of location you found the image, such as Flickr
  • License type - Create a hyperlink to the CC License type 

“False Sunrise” by Wikipedia is licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0.

Template: “[Title, including link to original source]” by [author, including profile page link if possible] is licensed under [license, linked to license deed if possible].

OR

Author (linked). Title (linked). Source page URL. CC License text, (ie Attribution Share-Alike) CC BY-SA (linked) (Use appropriate license info)

 

https://www.newmediarights.org/guide/how_to/creative_commons/best_practices_creative_commons_attributions

https://www.wikihow.com/Attribute-a-Creative-Commons-Licensed-Work 

Chicago Style Citation for CSB Artists' Books

Example: Bird Watching Object Description from Vivarium 

Title Bird Watching 
Author McCartney, Paula
Contributors Women's Studio Workshop
Dimensions [31 p.] : col. III.;20x26cm.
Description Twelve chromogenic photographs mounted on Rising Stonehenge 100% cotton paper. The printed text is in Souvenir LtBT and the written text is in the artist's handwriting on Zerkall Nedggen sandpaper, and the endsheets are printed on Canson Mi-Teintes flannel gray paper. The book is covered in olive and brown Iris bookcloth. Library copy is edition 18 of 40. signed by McCartney.
Publication Date 2006
Publisher Women's Studio Workshop
Place of Publication Rosendale NY
Collection note
Clemens Library, College of Saint Benedict. Materials do not circulate. Consult library web site for current business hours, https://www.csbsju.eu/libraries/about-us/hours

 Alternative: WorldCat 

Caption example:

Paula McCartney, Bird Watching, 2006, artists’ book, 20 x 26 cm. Women’s Studio Workshop: Rosendale, New York. Artists’ Books Collection, Clemens Library, College of Saint Benedict, Saint Joseph, MN.

Bib example:  Last name, First name. Title of work. Date. Medium. Dimensions. Publisher, Location.

McCartney, Paula. Bird Watching. 2006. Artists’ Book, 20 x 26 cm. Women’s Studio Workshop: Rosendale, New York. Artists’ Books Collection, Clemens Library, College of Saint Benedict, Saint Joseph, MN.