Learning Objectives

By the end of Tutorial 1: Library Orientation, you should know how to:

  • Get research help.
  • Search the CSB and SJU Libraries' catalog and research databases to find things in our collections.
  • Use interlibrary loan to get books and articles we don't already have in the CSB and SJU Libraries collections. 

Estimated module time: 30 minutes

Getting Help: Research Appointments with Librarians

You'll get to know our librarians when they visit some of your classes. Each section of Learning Foundations and Transfer Seminar, for example, has a designated librarian who will visit your class this semester.

Librarians are also available in person or via Zoom to help you outside of class. We can meet with you at any stage of your assignment and usually help with things like finding relevant and trusted sources on your topic, refining your research question, planning next steps to fill in any information gaps, and citing sources or completing your bibliography or works cited page. 

Any librarian will be happy to help you get started with an assignment, but some librarians will be more familiar with a given academic discipline, your course or instructor, or the details of your assignment. To review our librarians' subject areas and to schedule an appointment, click on the red Research Appointment button on the library homepage. We look forward to meeting with you!

Research Appointments button

 

 

Library Website

The CSB and SJU Libraries website (https://csbsju.edu/libraries) is your central portal to library information, resources, and services. Throughout these tutorials, we will highlight different parts of the library website to introduce you to important services and resources available to CSB and SJU students. 

 

Library Locations

The CSB and SJU Libraries include two main library buildings:

  • SJU's Alcuin Library and Reinhart Learning Commons
  • CSB's Clemens Library

The separate ​​​​​BAC Music Library is located at CSB in Benedicta Arts Center A147.

 

Library Hours

Today's Hours are always listed on the library homepage. You can also check our regular academic year hours, summer hours, and holiday hours on the library website. 

During the school year, Alcuin and Clemens both keep the following hours:

  Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Open 8:00 a.m. 8:00 a.m. 8:00 a.m. 8:00 a.m. 8:00 a.m. 10:00 a.m. 10:00 a.m.
Close midnight midnight midnight midnight  6:00 p.m. 6:00 p.m. midnight

Borrowing Books and Other Materials

Your Student ID is your library card! Use it to borrow (or "check out") resources from our libraries on either campus.
Any books you check out are due back at the end of the semester.

Other library resources you can borrow include DVDs, tabletop games, and media equipment like laptops, cameras, storage drives, video recorders, and microphones:

  Books Videos / Games Equipment / Laptops / Storage Media
Borrowing Period 1 semester 3 days
1 day / 5 days / 28 days
Number You Can Borrow up to 150 up to 3
up to 3
Maximum Renewals 3 1 1 / 1 / 0
Overdue Fines No fines for 9 days; 
charged $10 on 10th day
$1 a day for 10 days  $1 per hour
Lost Item Charges $50 replacement fee
+ $10 processing
replacement fee varies
+ $10 processing 
replacement fee varies
+ $10 processing

Your Library Account

You can view your borrowing record, check the status of requested items, see due dates, or renew items by logging in to your library account - use the My Account button in the "Use the Library" box on the library homepage.

Library My Account link


Off-Campus Login

You can access the CSB and SJU Libraries' databases and other online resources when you are off campus; you'll just be prompted to log in using your CSB and SJU username and password (the ones you use to log in to your student email and Canvas) first. You must access our databases through the library website (rather than through an online search, for example) in order to prompt the log in and receive full access.

Library My Account sign in

Finding Resources: Research Guides and Databases A-Z

You can get access to millions of articles from scholarly and popular journals, magazines, and newspapers through the CSB and SJU Libraries. Most are available online (rather than in print) through our library database collections. Each database holds a different collection of content. Many databases focus on compiling academic journal articles and might contain thousands of articles that were originally published in hundreds of different academic journals. Some databases include a wider range of information and might also include content from magazines, newspapers, videos, theses and dissertations, books, or other types of sources. 

You can get to our library databases, and from there search for individual articles, by using 1) the Research Guides or 2) the Databases A-Z links on the library home page:

Our librarians have created Research Guides for every academic major and minor offered at CSB and SJU. Each guide recommends specific library databases for that particular academic subject, along with other recommended resources and information to help you complete assignments related to that discipline. 

Databases A-Z button

You can access 200+ different research databases through the CSB and SJU Libraries, and all of these databases are listed alphabetically on our Databases A-Z list. You can also filter our Databases A-Z content by subject to find the databases that are most appropriate for a particular class or research topic. 

Remember, if you are off campus you can access all of our databases and online resources, but you will need to log in first.

Finding Resources: The Library Catalog

The library catalog is the main search box in the middle of the Libraries homepage. You can use the catalog to search for library materials like books and eBooks, streaming video and DVDs, scholarly and popular articles, and music. Use the Search All drop-down menu if you want to find a particular format or type of material, like only music:

Library Catalog search bar

Example:

Entering the search term "sustainability" into the catalog and keeping Search All (to search all formats) will return many results from the CSB and SJU Libraries and worldwide that include books, eBooks, journals, DVDs, and streaming videos. Each result lists the item's call number, location, and format. In this case, the first item on the results page is a print book located at Clemens Library (CSB). The second item is an eBook and the record includes a link to the item. 
[Image Properties: I increased W from 500 to 600.]

Library catalog search results with book and ebook

For more information about the Library Catalog, check out our Search Tips page. 

Find eBooks

Most eBooks can be found by searching directly in the library catalog. On the catalog's search results page, if you only want eBook results, you can use the filters on the left side of the catalog's search results page to limit results by Format to Book and then further to eBook. 

Watch the following video to see how to access eBooks from the CSB and SJU Libraries:

Find a Print Book Using Call Numbers

The CSB and SJU Libraries use Library of Congress (LC) call numbers to organize materials in the collection. An LC call number is a combination of letters and numbers that indicates where an item is located. Watch the following video to learn how to use LC call numbers to find a book on the libraries' shelves:

Source: Laurentian Library. "Reading LC call numbers." Online video clip. YouTube. YouTube, 6 August 2014. 19 May 2021.

Place a Hold on a Print Book

You can place a hold on a book and then pick it up at the front desk of whichever campus library you request. From the search results page, click the title link of a book to view its full record and then click on the blue "Place Hold" button on the right side of the page. 

Place hold button for a book in the catalog


Watch the following video to see how to place a hold on a book in the CSB and SJU Libraries catalog:

Paywalls: Don't Pay to Get Full-Text Articles Online!

Have you ever tried searching for information online, using an open-web search engine like Google, only to hit a paywall? (A paywall is when a site offers to provide full access to an article or other resource, but only if you have a subscription or if you pay an access fee.) 

Students at CSB and SJU should never need to pay these fees to access journal articles. Talk to a librarian instead - we can help you access the same article in our collections or by requesting a free copy of the article from another library using interlibrary loan.

Interlibrary Loan

If the CSB and SJU Libraries don't have an article or book you need, you can request a copy from another library through interlibrary loan. Interlibrary loan is almost always a free service. For any special items that involve a fee you will be asked to approve that charge before the item is ordered. 

  • Requesting articles or scanned book chapters: Most of these requests are filled within a couple of days. When an interlibrary loan article is ready, you'll get an email that includes a link for accessing the full text of the article online. This link expires, so download or print any interlibrary loan articles you'll need to refer to later.  
  • Requesting print books (or other items that need to be physically shipped to us): Some items ship quickly, but turnaround times vary greatly depending on the location of the lending library and nature of the material. please plan ahead to allow at least two weeks for processing and shipping whenever possible.

Interlibrary Loans from the Catalog

To request a book or article you found using our library catalog, click the title link for the item on the search results page and then, in the item's full record, click the blue "Request Item through Interlibrary Loan" button in the upper right.

Can I request an eBook using Interlibrary Loan? You cannot normally request entire eBooks through Interlibrary Loan, so make sure it says "Print Book" in the catalog record before placing your request. You can request individual chapters or sections from eBooks, which is explained later on this page. 

Interlibrary Loan Request button for book in the catalog

 

Watch the following three videos to see how to request 1) a print book through Interlibrary Loan, 2) a copy of a chapter or section from a print book or eBook through Interlibrary Loan, and 3) an article found using the library catalog through Interlibrary Loan.

1. Request a Print Book

2. Request a Chapter or Section of a Book

3. Request an Article From the Catalog

 

Interlibrary Loans from a Database

Sometimes the database you're using doesn't provide full text to the article you need. In that case, look for the Find It button for that article. The Find It button helps you discover if the full text of the article is available in a different database that we subscribe to or if you will need to request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

To request an article found in a database:

1. Locate and click on the article's Find It button. Find It Button
2. Check for links to View Full Text, or the journal title under Full text availability for this item.
3. If the full text isn't available, click the Request Item through Interlibrary Loan button. 

Find It page ILL request item button

Another Way to Request Interlibrary Loan

If you don't see a "Request Item through Interlibrary Loan" button, you can always go to the Interlibrary Loan page on the CSB and SJU Libraries website and fill out a blank Interlibrary Loan Request Form.

In a later module, you will learn how to get the full text of articles while searching a database. 

Tutorial 1 Quiz and Next Tutorial

Take the quiz for Tutorial 1: Library Orientation here [link out]. 

When you are ready, move on to Tutorial 2: Understanding Source Types.